Personal tools

Information zum Seitenaufbau und Sprungmarken fuer Screenreader-Benutzer: Ganz oben links auf jeder Seite befindet sich das Logo der JLU, verlinkt mit der Startseite. Neben dem Logo kann sich rechts daneben das Bannerbild anschließen. Rechts daneben kann sich ein weiteres Bild/Schriftzug befinden. Es folgt die Suche. Unterhalb dieser oberen Leiste schliesst sich die Hauptnavigation an. Unterhalb der Hauptnavigation befindet sich der Inhaltsbereich. Die Feinnavigation findet sich - sofern vorhanden - in der linken Spalte. In der rechten Spalte finden Sie ueblicherweise Kontaktdaten. Als Abschluss der Seite findet sich die Brotkrumennavigation und im Fussbereich Links zu Barrierefreiheit, Impressum, Hilfe und das Login fuer Redakteure. Barrierefreiheit JLU - Logo, Link zur Startseite der JLU-Gießen Direkt zur Navigation vertikale linke Navigationsleiste vor Sie sind hier Direkt zum Inhalt vor rechter Kolumne mit zusaetzlichen Informationen vor Suche vor Fußbereich mit Impressum

Document Actions

Conference Venue

 
conference venue
Rauischholzhausen Castle

Desorption 2012

Castle of Rauischholzhausen, Germany

JUNE 03 - 07, 2012

Desorption 2012 will be held at the Castle of Rauischholzhausen, a lovely retreat half-way between the towns of Marburg and Giessen.

 

The Castle of Rauischholzhausen: a fairy-tale manor house with English flair

The charming, 'Harry Potteresque' Castle of Rauischholzhausen was designed by the architect Carl Schaefer, who supervised its construction from 1871 to 1878, and was soon after redesigned and redecorated by two students of the prominent German architect, Gottfried Semper (architect of the famous opera house in Dresden, the Semperoper). The main building, reminiscent of an English manor house, and the half-timbered wing of the building were the last to be completed in 1878. Today, the castle is most famous for its fairy-tale design and its spacious landscaped garden, which contains almost 300 different types of trees, two streams and several ponds connected by artificial cascading waterfalls. 

For centuries, the castle lands belonged to the Lords Rau of Holzhausen and were later on sold to the German ambassador in Madrid. After the Second World War, the castle was confiscated by the allied forces and was given to the state of Hesse. Today, the castle is a regular host of conferences and other events of the Justus Liebig University of Giessen.

Every room in this picturesque castle has its own character from grand to quirky. The uniqueness of this listed building comes with the slight drawback that not every room is equipped with en suite facilities, but so far its charm always managed to make up for it.

 

For additional information about the castle and how to get there please click here and here.

 

Address:

Schloss Rauischholzhausen
Ferdinand-von-Stumm-Straße
35085 Ebsdorfergrund-Rauischholzhausen