



Mitteilungen der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen

Ausgabe vom **5.20.10 Nr. 2**

05.01.2021

Guidelines for awarding the Röntgen Prize

Guidelines for awarding the Röntgen Prize at Justus Liebig University Giessen New version from 22.12.2020

	Präsidium	Verkündung
Neufassung	22.12.2020	05.01.2021

Inhalt

Prea	amble	$_{}$
§ 1	Founding companies	2
§ 2	Awarding the prize	2
§ 3	Prize endowment	2
§ 4	Composition and duties of the board of trustees	2
§ 5	Composition and tasks of the expert committee	2
§ 6	Sculpture of the Röntgen Prize	3
§ 7	Amendment of the guidelines	3
ξ8	Dissolution of the foundation	3

Preamble

On the occasion of the double Röntgen anniversary in 2020 (175th birthday of Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen and 125 years since the discovery of x-rays), the executive board of Justus Liebig University Giessen, in agreement with the other members of the board of trustees for awarding the Röntgen Prize, has adopted the following new version of the ,Guidelines for the Award of the Röntgen Prize at Justus Liebig University Giessen'.

The guidelines are primarily intended to address two aspects that will play a central role in the future selection and award of the Röntgen Prize in the future:

- 1. Expanding and opening up the selection procedure for the purpose of raising the profile of this highly endowed, prestigious Röntgen Prize in order to attract a larger number of excellent applications.
- 2. Introducing a ,physical' Röntgen Prize, which is to be presented in the form of a sculpture of the Giessen Röntgen Monument at the Röntgen Prize award ceremony, thus emphasising the importance and value of this academic award.

§ 1 Founding companies

In memory of W. C. Röntgen, full professor of physics at Ludwig,s University of Giessen in the years 1879–1888, the companies Pfeiffer Vacuum GmbH, Asslar and the Ludwig-Schunk-Stiftung e.V.,

Giessen have donated a Röntgen Prize.

§ 2 Awarding the prize

- (1) The prime is awarded for new, outstanding scientific work and achievements in the fields of radiation physics, radiation biology, or photonic basic research, including related fields of research. Preference should be given to work by young scientists.
- (2) Proposals for an award are submitted to the evaluation committee, which reviews and evaluates them on the basis of an international call for proposals, which takes place at the beginning of the year. A person who is recognised as an expert in the field of research must support the proposal. Self-proposals are admissible if they are accompanied by a favourable opinion from a recognised expert.
- (3) If the board of trustees selects a suitable award winner on the basis of the proposal of the committee, the prize may be awarded once a year.
- (4) In special cases, the prize may be divided among several prizewinners. If the prize is not awarded one year, it cannot be awarded retroactively in following years.
- (5) The decision of the board of trustees for awarding the Röntgen Prize requires unanimity.

§ 3 Prize endowment

The Röntgen Prize endowment is 15,000 euros. For each award, the sponsoring companies shall provide 15,500 euros to a special account at Justus Liebig University after the board of trustees has decided on the winners.

§ 4 Composition and duties of the board of trustees

- (1) A board of trustees shall decide on awarding the Röntgen Prize on the basis of proposals from a committee of experts. The board of trustees comprises the following:
 - The chairperson of the Ludwig Schunk Foundation e.V., Giessen, or that person, s deputy
 - One representative to be nominated by Pfeiffer Vacuum GmbH, Asslar
 - The President of Justus Liebig University or his or her representative
 - A professor of physics at Justus Liebig University,
 - A member elected by the expert committee from among its members.
- (2) The President of Justus Liebig University chairs the board of trustees. He or she convenes the board during the summer semester.
- (3) The appointment of the professor of physics and the member of the evaluation committee to the board of trustees shall be for a period of two years. Faculty 07—Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, and Geography—elects the member from the Department of Physics to the board of trustees.

§ 5 Composition and tasks of the expert committee

- (1) The expert committee is composed of the following three members:
 - Two professors from the Department of Physics of Faculty 07 Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, and Geography;
 - One professor from Faculty 09—Agriculture, Home Economics, and Environmental Management, Faculty 10—Veterinary Medicine or Faculty 11—Medicine, as well as from the Department of Biology of Faculty 08—Biology and Chemistry.

Guidelines for awarding the Kontgen Frize US.01.2021 S.20.10 Nr. 2	Guidelines for awarding the Röntgen Prize	05.01.2021	5.20.10 Nr. 2
--	---	------------	---------------

- (2) The faculties propose their members for the expert committee, and the executive board appoints them.
- (3) The expert committee elects a chairperson from among its members. This chairperson shall invite the expert committee to the necessary meetings and shall ensure that the proposal for the award is sent to the members of the board of trustees at least two weeks before it meets.

§ 6 Sculpture of the Röntgen Prize

Starting in 2020, the Röntgen Prize will be awarded along with a Röntgen sculpture, which serves as a visible symbol of the Röntgen Prize.

§ 7 Amendment of the guidelines

Amendments to these guidelines can only be decided by the executive board in agreement with the board of trustees.

§ 8 Dissolution of the foundation

In the event of the dissolution of the Röntgen Prize Foundation, the remaining amount in the special account shall revert to Justus Liebig University.

Giessen, 22 December 2020 Prof Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee President of Justus Liebig University Giessen

Enclosure:

Photo of the future Röntgen Prize of Justus Liebig University Giessen (with and without display case)