Document Actions

European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)

Using the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS), students are able to transfer credits earned at Faculty 02 - Economics and Business Studies to other European universities.

ECTS Information


The European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) provides a way of measuring and comparing learning achievements and transferring credit from one university to another. Courses at Giessen University are divided into lectures, seminars and practice courses, each with an assigned value in ECTS credits. These credits reflect the amount of work each course requires in relation to the total workload needed to complete a full year of academic study at Justus Liebig University (for, say, lectures, practice courses, seminars, self-study in the library or at home, and examinations or other forms of assessment). In the ECTS, the workload involved in a full year of study amounts to 60 credit points (i.e., 30 credits per semester).

It is important to note that there are no courses which are taught specifically for ECTS purposes. Instead, all ECTS courses are part of the standard curriculum prescribed for local German students. The ECTS credits are awarded when the respective courses have been completed and all required examinations have been passed. In addition, the Faculty 02 - Economics and Business Studies supplements those lectures that are of special use and interest to visiting students with ERASMUS tutorials.

Students participating in ECTS receive full credit for all academic work successfully carried out at any of the ECTS partner institutions, and they can transfer their academic credits from one participating institution to another on the basis of prior agreement on the content of study programmes.


Students who wish to participate in the ECTS must be citizens of

  • one of the EU member states or
  • one of the EFTA/EEA countries or
  • one of the countries participating in the ERASMUS programme.