Document Actions

Quick guide to the new Pilos user interface for web conferences

 

Welcome to the guide for the new interface of webconf.hrz.uni-giessen.de at JLU. The old interface (Greenlight) had to be replaced as it is no longer being developed. This guide is designed to help you get started quickly with the new interface and show you how to create a new virtual meeting room.

Please note: This update will not affect the BigBlueButton interface used for web conferences! Only the interface for managing meeting rooms will change.
Existing meeting rooms have been migrated to the new interface. The old links will all remain valid.

 

Table of content

  1. Signing In to Pilos
  2. Create a Room
  3. Overview of Room Features
  4. Customize a Room (Settings / Expert Mode)
  5. Join a Meeting with Moderator Permissions
  6. Grant Moderator Permissions via Personalized Room Links 

 

1. Signing in to Pilos

Please log in by clicking the blue “Login with a JLU-Account” button. After clicking the button, enter your HRZ ID and password on the login page.
Do not use the “Email” tab to log in to BBB.

2. Create a Room

Once you have logged in, you will be taken to your personal home page. Here you will see an overview of the rooms you have already created, as well as your memberships in other rooms.

  • To create a new room, click on ‘Create room’ under the ‘Rooms’ section.

  • In the pop-up window that appears, you can enter a name for the meeting. Then select a type, such as ‘Meeting’, to view the default room settings. You can also change the default settings after you have created the room (see below). Finally, please click on ‘Create’.

  • On the overview page, you can start the meeting by clicking the ‘Start’ button.
  • At the far right, at the same level, you will find the ‘Share’ button, which allows you to copy the link to the room and the access code.
  • You can delete rooms by clicking the red button on the bottom left.
  • If you wish to adjust further settings, open ‘expert mode’ via the cogwheel icon and select the settings as required.

3. Overview of Room Features

 

Overview of Room Functions

(1)    Start Meeting – starts the meeting for everyone.

(2)    Share: Copy meeting link to clipboard – copies the link so you can send it. 

(3)    Settings – here you can, for example, enable video recording.

(4)    Meeting history – shows all activity in the meeting over the last 30 days. 

(5)    Recordings from the last 14 days – these are automatically deleted afterward; be sure to save important recordings beforehand. 

(6)    Upload files to the meeting room – Files you want to share during the meeting can be uploaded here. 

(7)    Create a personalized room link (See item 4)

(8)    Participant list – This is generated for meetings; to be included, participants must have already registered at https://webconf.hrz.uni-giessen.de.

4. Customize Room (Settings / Expert Mode)

In the settings, you can, for example, configure whether joining the room is protected by an access code (default settings). You can make additional settings by enabling Expert Mode. There, you can, for example, enable recording, configure the waiting room, or manage moderator rights (see below).

5. Joining a Meeting with Moderator Permissions 

Before the switch to Pilos, anyone could join a meeting room via a link without registering and receive moderator permissions. This is no longer possible in Pilos.

In Pilos, you must first register participants in Pilos itself in order to obtain the appropriate moderation permissions. However, this requires that the room owner has configured the appropriate setting in the meeting room. When Expert Mode is enabled, this setting looks as follows: 

For rooms that had been configured in BBB prior to the switch to Pilos to grant moderation rights to all participants, this setting was applied automatically. When you set up new rooms in Pilos, you must configure this setting yourself in the expert settings after creating the room. However, it is important to note that you will only be granted moderation rights in BBB if you are logged in as a participant in Pilos.

6. Grant Moderator Permissions via Personalized Room Links 

If you are planning a meeting for your supervisor or an external guest and cannot attend yourself, but do not want every participant to have moderator privileges, grant moderator privileges in advance via a personalized room link (see below).

(1)    Create a personalized room link

(2)    Click the “+” button: enter your first and last name and select the “Moderator” role.

(3)    The personalized room link is copied to the clipboard via the blue button; you can then send it to people via email.