Document Actions

Justus Liebig University Giessen Award / Award for Theses on the History of JLU

Deadline for all nominations: April 30, 2018



A. Justus Liebig University Giessen Award

This €5,000 prize is designed to promote theses from early career researchers. It can only be given to members and associates of the Justus Liebig University Giessen; works from former members that were completed during their work in Giessen can be considered. Dissertations are normally not eligible, and the nominated works should be at the habilitation level. Works to be awarded should not be more than four years old. The prize is generally awarded to one of the following four sections on a rotational basis:


Law, Business, Social Sciences and Humanities, Natural Science and Medicine


This year the following section will be rewarded:


Natural Science and Medicine


In accordance with Section 3, Para. 2 of the JLU Giessen Award statute, an unscheduled section may be awarded if there are no worthy candidates within the scheduled section.

All members and associates of Justus Liebig University Giessen can submit suitable nominations in part A to the president by April 30, 2018. At least two researchers must support nominations that are in accordance with the guidelines.


B. Award for works on the history of Justus Liebig University Giessen

Works that deal with the history of Justus Liebig University in the broadest sense can be awarded/promoted with prizes as high as €2,000.

For part B proposals can be submitted by everyone.


Point of contact:
Jörg Fischer
(0641) 99-12111