Inhaltspezifische Aktionen

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter R. Schreiner, PhD

University Professor and Liebig Chair, Project Director, Managing Director

Address + Links


Institute of Organic Chemistry
Justus Liebig University Giessen
Heinrich-Buff-Ring 17
35392 Giessen, Germany



Publications | List of Publications via PubMed

Curriculum vitae

Call for W3-Professorship for "Sustainable Organic Synthesis", Georg-August University Göttingen, Germany (2013, declined)

Call for position of Director of "Green Chemical Futures", Monash University, Melbourne, Australia (2012, declined)

Full professor of Organic Chemistry, Justus-Liebig-University Giessen, 2002–today

Associate Professor of Organic Chemistry, Univ. of Georgia, Athens, USA, 1999–2002

Habilitand, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, 1996–1999

Project Coordinator, The Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, 1995–1996

Ph.D. (Computational Chemistry, Prof. Henry F. Schaefer III), UGA, Athens, USA, 1995

Dr. rer. nat. (Organic Chemistry, Prof. Paul v. R. Schleyer), Univ. Erlangen, 1994

Dipl. Chem. (Organic Chemistry, Prof. Paul v. R. Schleyer), Univ. Erlangen, 1992

M. Sc. (Organic Chemistry, Prof. Richard. K. Hill), UGA, 1991


Associations | Functions

President of the German Chemical Society (GDCh), 2020 & 2021

German Research Counsel (DFG), Review Board Member (since 2016)

Chairman, Scientific Counsel, Max-Planck-Institute for Coal Research, Mülheim a. d. R., Germany (since 2016)

Vice President for Research (2012–2015)

Speaker of the list "Vereinigte Professoren", 2010-2012 and 2019-today

Associate Editor, The Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry, 2011–today

Member of the University Senate, 2011-2012 and 2019-today

Head, Association of German Chemistry Professors (Arbeitsgemeinschaft deutscher Universitätsprofessoren Chemie, ADUC), 2011-2013

Chairman, Dechema Section on "Kinetics and Reaction Mechanisms", 2008-2018

Editor-in-Chief, WIRES-Computational Molecular Sciences, 2008-today

Associate Editor, The Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry

Editor, The Journal of Computational Chemistry, 2000-today

Dean, Faculty of Biology and Chemistry, 2006-2009

Associate Dean, Faculty of Biology and Chemistry, 2003-2006

Minerva Beirat, Lise-Meitner Center for Computational Chemistry

Liason Person, Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes

Member, American Chemical Society

Member, Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker

Member, Deutsche Technion Gesellschaft

Member, Liebig-Vereinigung

Member, Bunsen-Gesellschaft


Awards and Honors

Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Preis der DFG (2024)

ERC Advanced Grant (2022–2027)

Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences (as of 2022)

The American Chemical Society (ACS) Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (2021)

Academy Award of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences (2020)

Inauguration of the Stan Brown Lectureship, Queens University, Kingston, Canada (2020)

Boehringer-Ingelheim Lecture, Boston College, USA (2019)

The Royal Society of Chemistry Physical Organic Chemistry Award (2019/20)

Tarrant Distinguished Visiting Professor, U Florida,Gainesville, USA (2019)

Novartis Lecture, Yale U, New Haven, USA (2018)

Inauguration of The Kornis Family Lecture, UNSW Sydney (2018)

Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Invitation Fellowship, Japan (2018)

Elected member, Academy of Science and Literature | Mainz (as of 2017)

Patai-Rappoport Lecture, European Symposium on Organic Chemistry (ESOC), Cologne (2017)

Craig Visiting Professorship, Australian National University, Canberra (2017)

Australian Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists Lectureship, Australia (2017)

Adolf-von-Baeyer Memorial MedalGerman Chemical Society (2017)

Kurt-Alder Lectureship Award, University of Cologne (2015)

“Universitatis Lodzienzis Amico”-Medal of the University of Lodz, Poland (2015)

Corresponding Member of "Northrhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts" (since 2015)

Science Award from the German Technion Society (DTG, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology) (2014)

WATOC Board member (2014–date)

Elected Member of "Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences" (since 2013)

Lifetime Honorary Member, Polish Chemical Society (since 2013)

Schulich Visiting Professorship, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, March 2012

Lifetime Honorary Member, Israel Chemical Society (since 2009)

P. v. R. Schleyer Lectureship Award (2010, University of Georgia, USA)

Török Lectureship Award (2009, Eötvös University, Budapest, Hungary)

Chair, Gordon Research Conference on Physical-Organic Chemistry - Molecular Design and Synthesis (2009, New Hampshire, USA) 

Visiting professor, Stanford University (March–April 2010)

Visiting professor, Université Bordeaux (October 2009)

Dirac Medal (2003) of the World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists

Research Innovation Award (2000) of the Research Corporation

Chemical Research Publicity Award (2000), The University of Georgia

ADUC-Preis for 'Habilitanden' 1999

'Habilitations'-Stipend of the Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (1999)

Allocation of the Otto-Röhm-Gedächtnisstiftung (1999)

Liebig-Fellow of the Fonds der Chemischen Industrie (1997–1999)

Robert C. Anderson Memorial Award (1996)

Karl-Giehrl-Prize (1995), Best Promotion 1994, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg

Martin-Reynolds-Smith-Award (1993), American Chemical Society (ACS)

Doctoral Fellowship (1992–94) of the Fonds der Chemischen Industrie

Stipend of the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes (1992–94)

DAAD Stipend (1990–91, USA)