Document Actions

Justus Liebig University Giessen's Prize

The prize is awarded for outstanding work that young scientists have completed at JLU or for interesting and promising research projects.

Link: Statute


List of persons who have received the JLU Prize since 1976:
Link: Table of prizewinners

JLU Prize

The prize, endowed with 5,000 euros, is intended to promote the work of young academics. It can only be awarded to members and affiliates of Justus Liebig University Giessen; work that alumni produced during their time at Giessen can be considered. Dissertations are generally excluded, and the proposed work should be of habilitation level. The work to be honored should not be older than four years. The prize is generally awarded annually to one of the following two sections:

1. Law, economics, social sciences, and humanities
2. Natural sciences and medicine

This year it will be held in the section Natural Sciences and Medicine. According to section 3 para. 2 of the statutes of the Justus Liebig University Giessen Prize, an award may be made to the other section if there are no nominations worthy of an award from the section designated for the award.

Corresponding proposals can be submitted by all members and affiliates of Justus Liebig University Giessen until April 30, 2024 to the president. The proposals should include a curriculum vitae and a current list of publications and must be supported by at least two academics belonging to different working groups / specialist areas.

Jörg Fischer
(0641) 99-12111