Document Actions

Röntgen Prize at Justus Liebig University Giessen

The prize is awarded for new, outstanding scientific work and services in the field of basic research in radiation physics, photonics or radiation biology. It is primarily intended to honour the work of young scientists.

About Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen

The following text is largely based on the publication
"Important Personalities at the University of Giessen", page 12

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen was a full professor of physics at the University of Giessen from 1879 to 1888. Later he taught as a professor at the universities in Würzburg and Munich. He was the first to receive the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1901 for the discovery of x-rays at the Physics Institute of the University of Würzburg on November 8, 1895. Although he himself named them 'x-rays', in German, his discovery is named Röntgenstrahlen after him.

During his time in Giessen, Röntgen brought about the relocation of the Institute of Physics from Frankfurter Strasse to the new main university building. He published about twenty scientific papers during this time, including works on the ‘x-ray tone’, in which he showed that gases absorb heat rays, and works on the detection of the magnetic field produced by a displacement current (‘x-ray current’).

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen felt especially connected to the city of Giessen. At his own request, he was buried in the old cemetery in Giessen, where his gravestone can still be found today.


In memory of Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, full professor at the University of Giessen from 1879 to 1888, Justus Liebig University of Giessen has been awarding the Röntgen Prize since 1960.

This internationally renowned prize is made possible by the commitment and support of two donor companies:
Pfeiffer Vacuum GmbH, Asslar und Ludwig Schunk Foundation e.V., Giessen, which provide the prize money of 15,000 Euros.

The deadline for proposals and applications, which should be addressed to the chairman of the expert committee, is April 30 of each year. Please send proposals here: 


Prof. Dr. Sangam Chatterjee
Institute of Physics I
Heinrich-Buff-Ring 16
35392 Giessen
Tel.: 0641 99-33110

The documents can also be sent electronically (as PDF documents) to Prof. Chatterjee:



Röntgen Prize and Röntgen Monuments

Numerous honors and prizes are still awarded in Röntgen's honor throughout Germany today. Moreover, monuments commemorate him in many German cities, including the Röntgen monument in Giessen's Südanlage. Prof. Dr. Winfried Speitkamp, President of the Bauhaus University in Weimar, wrote an article on the creation and history of the Röntgen monument in Giessen on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the JLU in 2007, which is linked here.

Röntgen Sculpture

Based on Erich F. Reuter's design for the Röntgen monument in Giessen, a Röntgen sculpture was created in the Röntgen anniversary year 2020, which will accompany the Röntgen Prize ceremony at JLU in the future and thus serve as a visible symbol of this prestigious academic award. The Röntgen sculpture can also be seen on the award poster (in German).

Röntgen Award Ceremony 2021 at Justus Liebig University Giessen
Target Audience

Young academics without a permanent chair.

Necessary Documents:

1. A cover letter explaining the research work for which the prize is to be awarded and the contributions made by the nominee.

2. A résumé

3. A current list of publications

You can find more detailed information on the award procedure in the complete guidelines.

Prize Winners

Previous winners of the Röntgen Prize at Justus Liebig University Giessen

Street Art

Street art wall painting by 3Steps artists' collective