Document Actions


On the initiative of the Dr. Herbert Stolzenberg Foundation and the Executive Board of the Justus Liebig University, the GGN is able to award prizes for the recognition of young scientists in the natural sciences.


The GGN awards three early career researchers in the natural sciences.

On initiative of the Dr.-Herbert-Stolzenberg Foundation and the Executive Board of Justus Liebig University , the GGN granted three awards for supporting early career researchers in the natural sciences. The awards were endowed with € 1,000 each. They serve to honor young scientists at an early stage of their scientific careers who distinguish themselves through outstanding achievements in their field and exceptionally commitment to their discipline.

The winners of the Dr.-Herbert-Stolzenberg-Awards for outstanding achievements in the natural sciences:


Marcel Linka

Janis Kevin Eckhardt

Dr. Anton Windfelder


Experimental Psychology (FB06)

Institute for Theoretical Physics (FB07)

Experimental Radiology,

Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology IME


Prof. Ben de Haas, Ph.D.

Prof. Dr. Jutta Billino (apl.)

Prof. Dr. Christian Heiliger Prof. Dr. Tina Trenczek

For his outstanding commitment to the connection between basic research and science communication, in particular his citizen science project " Millionen Augenblicke ".

For his excellent scientific work on future battery electrodes and the development of a network model to study impedance spectra of battery materials.

In recognition of the development of an alternative high-throughput screening system for the targeted characterization and non-invasive diagnosis of inflammatory changes in the gut of tobacco hawkmoth larvae and its unparalleled commitment to effectively process and make available its research results to the public.

The award ceremony took place on July 3, 2023 as part of the opening ceremony of the GGN.

The three award winners with the Executive Board of the GGN and a member of the Board of Trustees of the Dr. Herbert Stolzenberg Foundation. From left to right: Prof. Dr. Katja Fiehler, Prof. Dr. Peter Klar, Dr. Stefanie Müller, Marcel Linka, Janis Kevin Eckhardt, Dr. Anton Windfelder, Prof. Dr. Hermann Wegner, Dr. Katharina Wendlandt Photo: Rolf K. Wegst

You can find the call for applications for the award 2022 here.

The application phase ended on April 14, 2023.We would like to thank all applicants for their outstanding submissions.