Quick guide to the new Pilos user interface for web conferences
Welcome to the guide for the new interface of webconf.hrz.uni-giessen.de at JLU. The old interface (Greenlight) had to be replaced as it is no longer being developed. This guide is designed to help you get started quickly with the new interface and show you how to create a new virtual meeting room.
Please note: This update will not affect the BigBlueButton interface used for web conferences! Only the interface for managing meeting rooms will change.
Existing meeting rooms have been migrated to the new interface. The old links will all remain valid.
Create a room
Once you have logged in, you will be taken to your personal home page. Here you will see an overview of the rooms you have already created, as well as your memberships in other rooms.
-
To create a new room, click on ‘Create room’ under the ‘Rooms’ section.
-
In the pop-up window that appears, you can enter a name for the meeting. Then select a type, such as ‘Meeting’, to view the default room settings. You can also change the default settings after you have created the room (see below). Finally, please click on ‘Create’.


- On the overview page, you can start the meeting by clicking the ‘Start’ button.
- At the far right, at the same level, you will find the ‘Share’ button, which allows you to copy the link to the room and the access code.
- You can delete rooms by clicking the red button on the bottom left.
- If you wish to adjust further settings, open ‘expert mode’ via the cogwheel icon and select the settings as required.


The room has now been created and is ready to use. To share the room with other users, click the ‘Share’ button and forward the copied information, for example by email.
Customise room (optional)
By default, the room is protected by an access code and can only be entered by logged-in users. Further customisations to the room can be made in Expert Mode.
Personalised room links
You can now create invitation links for individual people using the “Personalised room links” feature. These people can be assigned moderator roles by default, even without logging in. To do this, simply click on the + icon to enter the first name and surname. Then select the person’s role and click on “Save”. To share this link, simply click on the “Link icon” (the orange box in the name’s row) and you can then forward this link.